Ritland Daily Ramble #24

Quote of the day
I myself have found a real rival in myself
– Jeff Tweedy

Rambles
Curious rambler
As many of you know I am a writer for Minnesota culture blog Curious North. I essentially do what I do here except a little more seriously and about exclusively local topics. I write about music and sports primarily but may branch out to religion if the opportunity presents itself.

Last Saturday Haley Anderson, the owner and operator of Curious North, and I had the opportunity to report on the 2014 Winter Carnival Beer Dabbler. In the article here you can get my thoughts on it. Warning: lots of beards.

In addition to the article this week also saw my podcast debut alongside Haley for the weekly Curious North podcast. Listen to it here. I never thought I’d believe this but I actually think I prefer – and am better at – talking about stuff than writing about it. Haley and I have great radio chemistry and I look forward to podcasting with her again hopefully soon.

*                           *                           *

More from the curious rambler
I’ve been writing regularly for Curious North for about a month. If this whole Daily Ramble thing is too much for you to digest my better material is typically on there. Here’s a rundown of what I’ve had on there so far.

Dancing About Architecture
An esoteric reflection on the impossibility of using words to describe important things. Also about holiness.

The Cloak Ox – Shoot the Dog
Andrew Broder’s latest project, The Cloak Ox, is rooted in classic and alternative rock but also pushes boundaries. Learn more by reading my review.

Minnesota Vikings Report
My analysis of the Vikings’ 2013 season, a word about the head coaching search, and some suggestions for 2014.

Minnesota Wild Report
Some words on the 2014 Wild season.

*                           *                           *

Picture of the day

me

Since this blog is all about me me me, why not a picture of my new haircut with some tires in the background?

Erik Ritland is a journalist and musician from St. Paul, Minnesota. He is a contributor for Minnesota culture blog Curious North and writes frequent Daily Rambles. Ramblin’ On catalogs his writings on culture, music (including his own projects), sports, religion, and many other topics. You can reach him via email here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Erik Ritland

Journalist Erik Ritland's seriously fun blog and podcast covering sport, music, culture, and more. http://www.ramblingon.net

Leave a Reply

