Ritland Daily Ramble #9

Quote of the day
Loving the world is the same as fighting the world.
– G.K. Chesterton

Rambles
Each small candle lights a corner in the dark
Am I too negative? Well, maybe sometimes. In today’s longer ramble, which you can read here, I explain why it’s important to write about and discuss important topics, even if it means occasionally being too overly critical. I also describe a little bit about how I went from being a Protestant to being Catholic.

*                           *                           *

My boy.
NPG x6021; G.K. Chesterton by James Craig AnnanG.K. Chesterton is a 300 pound, beer drinking, cigar smoking saint. Okay, so he hasn’t been canonized, but he’s a saint. He’s also my hero.

I have a long way to go before I become like Chesterton in any way (except as a Catholic convert which I will become in April). At my very best I’m like Chesterton at his worst through a mirror, darkly. He has taught me to look beyond what is presented to me. To be a truly critical thinker. To look towards the eternal.

This means looking at the world critically, which he did. Chesterton may have seemed negative but he was only looking at things for what they are. He perceptively saw what was wrong with the world (he wrote a book with that title, actually) and explained it in such a funny, charitable way that even those he disagreed with loved him. He understood what he criticized because he put it in the broader perspective of the eternal.

I try to do that but I have a long way to go. I’m not as perceptive about what I disagree with, I’m certainly not as fun or funny about it, and I barely have a clue about the bigger picture that it all fits in to. My only hope is that the more I read, the more I write, and the more I observe the better and better I’ll get.

Erik Ritland is a writer and musician from St. Paul, Minnesota. His blog and podcast Rambling On features commentary on music, sports, culture, and more. He is also a contributor for Minnesota culture blog Curious North. Support Erik’s music via his Patreon account, reach him via email, or find him on Facebook and Twitter.

About Erik Ritland

Journalist Erik Ritland's seriously fun blog and podcast covering sport, music, culture, and more. http://www.ramblingon.net

Leave a Reply

