Ritland Daily Ramble #1

The poor, Metallica, dreams, beer, losing faith in humanity.

– I’m glad I don’t have to bathe in a library bathroom. Everybody, give some money to the poor.

– Metallica is letting fans pick the setlist for their upcoming shows in South America. Here’s what my ideal Metallica setlist would look like:

  • First set: Kill ‘Em All in its entirety
  • Second set: Master of Puppets in its entirety
  • Third set: Ride the Lightning in its entirety
  • Fourth set: Garage Days EPs and a few songs from the rest of their catalog

– I had a long dream throughout the night last night that I had a daughter. I didn’t recognize the mother but I loved her very much. The birth must have been important because I was interviewed by the news after it, but during that scene I was on the outside looking in, and I didn’t recognize the man holding my daughter – it didn’t look like me, but it was me. I forgot her name so I kept asking the mother for a notebook that we had written it down in.

I had a profound love for the mother and the fact that I had this daughter was the most euphoric feeling I’ve ever felt, in a dream or otherwise. I kept waking up but forcing myself to go back to the dream until I almost woke up too late to get to work on time.

Can any dream interpreters help me out here?

– Beer alert: Two Brother’s Cane and Ebel is dark, hoppy, and delicious. Also, its description is awesome:

Dry, but with a creamy touch of Thai Palm Sugar and the spicy tang of Rye, all balanced by loads of the wackiest new Hops we could lay our hands on. Yep, it’s an Original. And that’s no Sin.

Get it on tap at Costello’s in St. Paul for a limited time.

– “If it makes you feel any better I’m currently trying to rip out a splinter in my finger that gave me an infection that got me sick” is probably my best text of the young new year.

– The more I read what people say on Twitter the less faith I have in humanity.

Erik Ritland is a writer and musician from St. Paul, Minnesota. His blog and podcast Rambling On features commentary on music, sports, culture, and more. He is also a contributor for Minnesota culture blog Curious North. Support Erik’s music via his Patreon account, reach him via email, or find him on Facebook and Twitter.

About Erik Ritland

Journalist Erik Ritland's seriously fun blog and podcast covering sport, music, culture, and more. http://www.ramblingon.net

Leave a Reply

